Colorado Teen Drivers Ed Permit |
first-pickup forward forward-arrow-only payments shield-with-check success back2 dropdown forward2 marketplace shipments ic_profile_empty iGottaDrive

Colorado Teen Drivers Ed Permit

What do I need to know?

Getting an instruction permit allows you to practice driving on the road under the supervision of a parent/guardian or adult who is at least 21 years old. The process of obtaining an instruction permit requires you to successfully pass a written test at your local DMV office after completing our 30-hour course. The permit and licensure requirements vary depending on your age, so be sure to check the DMV website for specific information. Don’t forget the teen driving restrictions under the Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws!

What steps do I take?

Register and purchase the 30-hour online driver’s ed course. We recommend purchasing the preferred or premium packages to increase your knowledge base. Once you have completed your driver’s ed course and studied the Colorado Driver Handbook, take your emailed Certificate of Completion, required documents, and new-found knowledge of safe driving practices to the DMV to take your permit test. We strongly recommend making an appointment to avoid excessive wait times.

What next?

After completing your driver’s ed course and obtaining your permit, the next step is to complete your behind-the-wheel training and gain the necessary experience for taking the DMV road test. The most important detail is to get practice, practice and more practice behind the wheel. It has been demonstrated that novice drivers with more supervised practice will become safer drivers, so don’t skimp on the practice!

Drivers that are younger than 16.5 years old when applying for their license are required to complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a licensed instructor. Drivers aged 15 years old to 17 years old are required to log 50 hours of supervised driving time (10 of which must be at night) before applying for a license. Make sure you keep a log of these hours as, when applying for your license, you will need to prove that you have fulfilled this requirement. Keep these helpful tips in mind when you’re behind the wheel.